I fell for an ad on FaceBook…

So, I usually pass these things by. You know how it goes, The ad sounds wonderful but then you listen to 30 minutes of sales pitch with possibly 3% actual information. Or else you get your email spammed forever, 15 times a day. It basically steals 10 minutes of your time every day deleting stuff… You unsubscribe and curse the greedy b@$+@rd$. We’ve all been there right?

But in a weak moment I clicked on an ad for a free webinar about the art world by Brainard Carey. It said free, so why not?

I was SO pleasantly surprised! I am telling you this as a real person – I don’t know this guy from Adam. I am not getting a kick-back or anything.

Firstly, at the webinar time, I was sound asleep on my sofa. I had been up since 3AM working on releasing 2 new fabric designs and making some new album covers for my FB and Pinterest, so 1PM started to feel like 5PM and I crashed hard. I woke up at around 4, totally forgetting I signed up for the dang thing.

I rolled over to the computer to get back to work and saw the reminder in my email…Damn! I missed it! Oh well. But there, in the email, was a link to the whole webinar on YouTube! Awesome! I settled in to watch, fully expecting it to give little drips and drabs of actual information between some hard sell…it WASN’T.  It was a full hour of really GOOD information with a sales pitch for his classes at the end. I don’t fault the guy for trying to sell something. We all need to make a living. He’s not Mother Theresa. But it was proportional. It was a reasonable amount, and the sales pitch was interspersed with a Q & A from the audience.

And yeah, he did that thing where they say it normally costs 20 million dollars, but for a limited time… I don’t fault him that either, I guess that’s some tried and true sales technique, even though I roll my eyes a little.

But the information was real and very good. It went into how to approach art galleries and I could immediately see why I have been failing. I am going to go out and try a new way tomorrow. It talked about the dreaded “Artist Statement” and I am rewriting mine tomorrow too.

He talked about museums and it all rang true, going by the experience I have been having with the folks at SAM. He talked about how to approach a museum and it was very much like how my exhibit idea went down with those SAM folks…To me it’s about building relationships.

So, basically, to all the struggling artists out there, I think it’s worth it to check this out, even If, like me, you can’t afford the classes at the end. It’s informative and painless.

 

About sharonpassmore

Hi. I am an artist living in Greenville, South Carolina. I am the Art moderator at Eratosphere, a forum of Ablemuse Review. I play with all sorts of art-forms, including digital design and fabric design, but nearest to my heart, at the moment, is collage. I like it best if the collage materials are not recognized from a distance and reveal themselves at close up, the way a painting can look realistic from a distance but on closer inspection, the freedom of brushstrokes becomes apparent. My materials are my brushstrokes. ​ I use anything I find in my collage that suits the purpose, beads, broken jewelry, wallpaper scraps etc... I always try to incorporate recycled packaging too. This is important to me, partly because of the environment, and partly because I get a little thrill out of recognizing the value of materials most people would discard as trash. Think of this next time you peel that wonderful foil seal off a new can of coffee. ​ I am inspired by many kinds of traditional arts and crafts. The cultural history of the world is just loaded with fabulous treasure, isn't it? I view the world of art and art history as a giant buffet and I want to sample a taste of everything. "Mmmmm that Wabi Sabi looks delicious! Gimme a little of that Horror Vacui! Check out those fantastic Molas!" I completely reject the idea that one artform is superior to another due to what is in fashion at the moment. Art is timeless. ​ If there's something I don't like too much, I try to keep in mind that I probably don't understand it, and that's a signal to me that I have something more to learn. There is always something more to learn. Thanks for visitng <3 Sharon Passmore
This entry was posted in #spartanburgartmuseum, Art, Business, fabric, Motivation, organizing, review and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment