A GLOWing review and straight talk on the level.

As you know, I have been working on the giant light-bulb. Part of my idea incorporates glow-in-the-dark paint to create lava flowing down the screw part of the bulb!!

Well, I shopped around and researched online for a bit. I bought some Martha Stewart craft paint a Michaels – It’s fine for crafts but I just didn’t think it would stand up to outdoor weather as a public art sculpture and keep glowing for more than a year. This project is more serious than a sign or a costume to be used once…

So I researched a lot and decided to get some paint from Glow Inc. The thing is, some of these more serious paints have an equally serious price tag. A half ounce was just shy of $10 as compared to the craft paint which was about $3 something for six ounces. That’s 20 times more expensive. :-O You get what you pay for, I guess.

So far I have just done some minimal tests with it and not really gotten into the project, so I am not ready to comment on the paint yet. With only 1/2 ounce per color to play with, I don’t want to blow it all on testing, I need it for the project. In my little tests the color was perfect to create my lava!

I also bought 1/2 oz. of blue for the inside of the geode part. That area will not get the same amount of sun and the blue fades much faster than the orange but it suits my needs because it will be subtle in that area and that’s fine. I need the lava to be blasting hot looking. But, as I said, I have not really used this paint yet.

What I want to review is the company  – Glow Inc.
The first thing I was very impressed with is the website. The site is just loaded with technical information and FAQs and they seemed to be straight-up. Unlike the other sites I was looking at, Glow’s website honestly discussed possible shortcomings of the paint, how fast the glow faded until charged again etc…which colors were stronger. Other websites seemed to all say how their paint was perfect, glowed all night after millions of recharges….yada yada. So my very first impression was that they were being honest with me.

Then I called the company with some questions. I immediately got a real person. She talked with me for about 15 minutes and answered all my questions. She was very knowledgeable about the product. She helped me decide which paint to try – for example, apparently the blue glows longer than the purple, so I got the blue.

A few days later the box arrived with my orange and blue and a purple with a handwritten note on the invoice…
“As a thank you for trying our products, I’m giving you the purple for free.
Thanks,
(her name)”
You see?! She remembered our conversation about blue vs. purple.

So, basically, I am very pleased with the Glow company. I let you know more about the paint later.

Here’s how the bulb is coming. That pink you see on the screw end is not that glow-in-the-dark paint yet, it’s “in-your-face” HOT HOT fluorescent pink which is the base coat before I put on the glow and the black crusts of lava flows.

cimg5172cimg5176cimg5177cimg5174

 

In one of these pictures you see my laser level set up on a tripod. It was a Ryobi  laser level – I returned that piece-of-$#!+ LOL. It didn’t stay put by any of the means built in to hold it. The magnet fell off of the tool in 3 seconds. It was a little round magnet glued into a recess on the holder and just popped right out. The suction cups slid down the whole time (although my plumber tells me that it was because I had them stuck on aluminum and suction cups don’t like aluminum. Ya learn something new every day Huh?) The push pins were poorly designed because the place they sit was set back too far from the front surface and so that whole set-up was wobbly and didn’t stay put either.  Meanwhile, there was no attachment for a tripod – you see it on a tripod because I jury-rigged it with duck tape. Seriously – you should see all the different color lines on my bulb from me trying to get it marked again and again – pencil – then green – then black marker…. Nothing lining up accurately. Maybe you can see that a little. I have to put a flat plexiglass window on this thing later – the cut had to be FLAT.

It’s really my own fault because I bought the second cheapest one they had. You get what you pay for Huh?

Then I bought a Kobalt. Wow what a difference! and yeah it was about $25 more expensive but seriously worth it if only for frustration relief. The Kobalt has a screw hole for a tripod. Isn’t that a no-brainer?!? Maybe not everyone is just trying to hang pictures Huh? The magnet is the entire surface of the bottom – screwed on solidly. It has 4 level bubbles as opposed to the 2 on the Ryobi, vert. horiz. 45, and a circular one. It came with a case. My favorite thing is that the Ryobi shoots out a blurry line and no options. The Kobalt shoots out a dot but has a lens that attaches magnetically to give you a line and you can turn it to several settings – horizontal, vertical and 45deg! There are no push pins because the tool is too heavy. As soon as I felt the weight of this in my hand I knew it was a serious tool, not just to hang a few pictures.

About sharonpassmore

Hi. I am an artist living in Greenville, South Carolina. I am the Art moderator at Eratosphere, a forum of Ablemuse Review. I play with all sorts of art-forms, including digital design and fabric design, but nearest to my heart, at the moment, is collage. I like it best if the collage materials are not recognized from a distance and reveal themselves at close up, the way a painting can look realistic from a distance but on closer inspection, the freedom of brushstrokes becomes apparent. My materials are my brushstrokes. ​ I use anything I find in my collage that suits the purpose, beads, broken jewelry, wallpaper scraps etc... I always try to incorporate recycled packaging too. This is important to me, partly because of the environment, and partly because I get a little thrill out of recognizing the value of materials most people would discard as trash. Think of this next time you peel that wonderful foil seal off a new can of coffee. ​ I am inspired by many kinds of traditional arts and crafts. The cultural history of the world is just loaded with fabulous treasure, isn't it? I view the world of art and art history as a giant buffet and I want to sample a taste of everything. "Mmmmm that Wabi Sabi looks delicious! Gimme a little of that Horror Vacui! Check out those fantastic Molas!" I completely reject the idea that one artform is superior to another due to what is in fashion at the moment. Art is timeless. ​ If there's something I don't like too much, I try to keep in mind that I probably don't understand it, and that's a signal to me that I have something more to learn. There is always something more to learn. Thanks for visitng <3 Sharon Passmore
This entry was posted in #artbulb, #lightenupspartanburg, #recycling, #spartanburgartmuseum, Art, glow in the dark, light-bulb, Lighten-Up_Spartanburg, public art, Recycling, review, Spartanburg Art Museum, spray foam insulation in art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A GLOWing review and straight talk on the level.

  1. Pingback: The GeoBulb is lightening up Spartanburg now! | Building Chinaberries

Leave a Reply

