New Fabric Designs

Yippie! I have 28 new fabric designs for sale!

Ya know…It’s been a bit of a struggle to get this going. Not to be on the pity pot, but this is about “Building Chinaberries” after all. The point of the blog has always been how to navigate the journey of growing a business.

You start out sitting in your dining room, craft room, garage, whatever…you are the greatest artist in the history of the world, right? There was a line in a movie once, I forget the movie or I would certainly give credit, but the girl says “I was the fastest runner in the world…until someone clocked me.” I really get that!

In this nebulous fantasy you suddenly get discovered. By some mysterious process, someone, some influential person sees your work. Maybe they saw it telepathically or maybe their cousin is a plumber who came to your house and saw your work and raved about it. Suddenly MoMA wants to buy everything you have and you have been invited to exhibit at the Venice Biennale. They picked you up in a limo! You are traveling the world and fabulous receptions are being given in your honor.You even travel to PARIS and you can afford to go shopping down the Champs Elysee!

Yeah, right.

In those silent moments in your basement studio, there really is a glimmer of truth about being a great artist. I really believe that. It’s because each one of us has a divine spark inside us. This spark is the pure truth of our unique selves. When we are absorbed in this spark-light, yes! we are great artists! That is the place where great art originates. I believe that, if a person can tap into this pure truth of themselves, and not edit it with doubts and second guessing, then great art happens. Doubts and second guessing completely kill it. Wondering what others will think kills it just as dead too.

BUT, it’s after that, when the brushes and beads are put away, that a person has to become a business person. Anyone who is following my blog knows how I feel about this part LOL. However, there are millions of us, so there it is.

So, back to Spoonflower and new designs. Spoonflower is a thread in my web. My main focus is my fine art, of course, but I love the POD (print on demand) idea. The reason is, you do the piece once and never need inventory, it can be for sale forever. It also makes a bigger web, all linked together and leading to all the other stuff. It does involve a bit of the dreaded business person work. Yes, I really do read the full TOS pages. Where’s the Advil? And some of the terms are not so good. Zazzle ripped me off once and I closed that store. So far I am very pleased with Spoonflower. I also have had some little success selling virtual items in the SecondLife Marketplace. That’s more for fun.

The struggle I mentioned earlier was about swatches. Spoonflower requires you buy a swatch before a design can be set for sale. This is right and reasonable. You have no way of knowing how the final product will look by the image on the computer screen. They need to be proofed. Swatches cost between $1.25 – $5.oo depending on the quantity. So for a long time I only had 17 designs for sale. I couldn’t afford more swatches. Here’s the original 17…

 

Then I joined SAGE, Surface Artists Guild of Excellence. After working pretty hard to post the SAGE mock-ups on Pinterest and Flickr, one of the group members, sweet Mary Wykes, contacted me. She said that she is so behind posting her own fabrics on Flickr and she noticed I needed swatches and could she hire me to do her postings so I could get swatches?!! Woo Hoo! Thank you, Mary ❤

You notice, she didn’t discover me telepathically, I was getting OUT THERE, even though it was online. I was busting my butt on promotions. Building Chinaberries.

So here, after much rambling, are the newest designs! And guess what? I ordered 30 more swatches yesterday! Watch this space!

You can see all my fabrics on home furnishings at Roostery

 

About sharonpassmore

Hi. I am an artist living in Greenville, South Carolina. I am the Art moderator at Eratosphere, a forum of Ablemuse Review. I play with all sorts of art-forms, including digital design and fabric design, but nearest to my heart, at the moment, is collage. I like it best if the collage materials are not recognized from a distance and reveal themselves at close up, the way a painting can look realistic from a distance but on closer inspection, the freedom of brushstrokes becomes apparent. My materials are my brushstrokes. ​ I use anything I find in my collage that suits the purpose, beads, broken jewelry, wallpaper scraps etc... I always try to incorporate recycled packaging too. This is important to me, partly because of the environment, and partly because I get a little thrill out of recognizing the value of materials most people would discard as trash. Think of this next time you peel that wonderful foil seal off a new can of coffee. ​ I am inspired by many kinds of traditional arts and crafts. The cultural history of the world is just loaded with fabulous treasure, isn't it? I view the world of art and art history as a giant buffet and I want to sample a taste of everything. "Mmmmm that Wabi Sabi looks delicious! Gimme a little of that Horror Vacui! Check out those fantastic Molas!" I completely reject the idea that one artform is superior to another due to what is in fashion at the moment. Art is timeless. ​ If there's something I don't like too much, I try to keep in mind that I probably don't understand it, and that's a signal to me that I have something more to learn. There is always something more to learn. Thanks for visitng <3 Sharon Passmore
This entry was posted in Art, Business, fabric, Motivation, SecondLife, spoonflower and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

