SAGE Fun!

Well, it’s been a few months that I have been involved in the SAGE Collective. Surface Artist’s Guild of Excellence. It’s been so much fun!

One reason it’s been fun is that I have a giant new palette to work with. Before, if I wanted to make a mock-up of clothing to showcase my fabrics, I was working with my own fabrics only. That’s fine, but NOW I have the fabrics of 23 other designers to play with. It’s fun getting to know them, which designers are fantastical? which are classic? which are cute? It’s like I just got a big new paint box.

This makes promotions way more fun and interesting. You know, as an artist, promotions can be a major drag when you want to be creating. Which would you rather do, play in the studio and paint and glue things; or sit on the brain draining computer and make sure your 1200 pictures have tags? Do you want to create patterns or read pages and pages of SEO information? No contest, right? Yet it has to be done. The world is not going to find me by discovering me in my basement. Even if I have things posted online, I am still in the company of hundreds of thousands of other designers and artists trying to get their stuff out there too. So that’s the situation. As an artist I have to do the promotion work. UGH. But now, with SAGE, it’s just more interesting and a little more fun AND I don’t feel alone. 23 other designers are also promoting me as I am promoting them. I feel it’s the same amount of work but the web presence is much much bigger now.

Now to the really fun part! The daily surprises! Just as these SAGE designer’s fabrics are a new toy for me, mine are a new toy for them too. Each one of the group has a different esthetic and sensibility. Just as our fabrics are different, so are our ways of putting them together. So, when I open Spoonflower and see a message about a new “sproutling” (that’s what we call them) I know it will be a treat to see what another designer has done with my fabric designs. I’m loving this!

This is why I would like to showcase what some of the other SAGE designers have done with my fabric designs…

AnneOstroff

http://www.spoonflower.com/profiles/anneostroff
Anne’s Sprout projects

Anne starts out her profile saying she is not an artist. Horse hockey! She’s very talented and she has a mathematical, scientific and vibrant flair. Here are two sproutlings she made with our fabrics:

#SAGE Sharon P & Anne’s Fractal Bag
– using Anne’s Fractal 48 and my Ripple Riot

sage-sharon-p-and-annes-fractal-bag

#SAGE Sharon P & Anne’s Festive Blue and Red Dress
– using Anne’s Fractal 46 and my Wicked Web

sage-sharon-p-and-annes-festive-blue-and-red-dressAnniedeb

http://www.spoonflower.com/profiles/anniedeb
https://sproutpatterns.com/shop/anniedeb?page=2

Deborah Astley uses lovely, subtle, earthy color harmonies. She has a unique way of putting things together. Fabulous! I just LOVE the grey top!

#SAGE Collaboration
– using Deborah’s Handmade Paper of Abaca and my Fractal Sandstorm

sage-collaboratiion#SAGE Cotton Balls and Wanderings
-using Deborah’s Cotton Balls on Textured Brown and my Wanderings

sage-cotton-balls-wanderings

 

 Bloomingwyldeiris

http://www.spoonflower.com/profiles/bloomingwyldeiris

https://sproutpatterns.com/shop/Bloomingwyldeiris

Penney Hughes is a world traveler and it shows in her beautiful fabric designs. You can tell, just by looking at her designs, that she is interested in everything she sees and enjoys it all.

#SAGE bluegrass Festival Shirt
-using Penney’s Strumming the Strings Blue Small and my Fractal Sandstorm

sage-bluegrass-festival
#SAGE Relaxed African Style
-using Penney’s Mudcloth Squares Ochre and my Fractal Zebra

sage-relaxed-african-style-patternDesigned by Debby

http://www.spoonflower.com/profiles/designed_by_debby
https://sproutpatterns.com/shop/designed_by_debby

Debby’s designs are very cheerful and fun! Her fabrics have beautiful harmonies with lively pops of color accents – just a lovely sense of joie de vivre!

#SAGE Trellis Envy Dress
-using Karenspix’s KRLGFabricPattern_56large and my Rusty Trellis

sage-trellis-envy-dress-pattern
#SAGE Purple Rain Apron
-using Debby’s Wildflowers on Red, magentarose’s  Purple Rain and my Wicked Web

sage-purple-rain-apron
#SAGE Multi-Design Lark Tee
-using Debby’s  Aqua Stained Glass, Floramoon Designs’ Fall Beauty and my Rusty Trellis

 

Just a note – this Trellis Envy dress doesn’t contain a bit of Debby’s own fabric. Just to explain how generous this is, Spoonflower pays the designer by the percentage of fabric design used in the sale. If that dress pattern sells, Debby will get diddly-squat. Only Karen and I will benefit. She’s done this before with other sproutlings. Give her a click <3!

 

 

Floramoon Designs

http://www.spoonflower.com/profiles/floramoon_designs
https://sproutpatterns.com/shop/floramoon_designs

Kelly has such a playful imagination. She manages to combine a youthful freedom with a classic design sense, creating fabrics that are fun and fanciful.

#SAGE Being Cozy
-using Kelly’s Pink Fizz, MagentaRose’s Christmas Cracker and my Beaded Garden

sage-being-cozy#SAGE Black and White Style
-using Kelly’s Night on the Tiles and Mosaic, and my Fractal Zebra

sage-black-white-style

#SAGE Boho and Stars
-using Kelly’s Catch a Falling Star and my Boho Blues

sage-boho-and-stars

#SAGE Boho Dream 
-using Kelly’s Dreamstate and my Boho Blues

sage-boho-dream

 

#SAGE in the Green
-using Kelly’s Spring Greens, Maryyx’s Early Bird Gets the Worm in Colorful Medley of Birds, Worms and Coffee Cups – orange, yellow, blue, purple, lime green reflection and my Rusty Trellis (I can’t help cracking up that the smallest piece of fabric has the hugest name LOL)

in-the-green-collaboration

#SAGE Hot Asteridea
-using Kelly’s Asteridea 2 and my Red Hot Fly Dye How fun is this?

sage-red-hot-asteridea

#SAGE Plum Crane and Beaded garden
-using Kelly’s Moroccan Dream and Plum & Crane, and my Beaded Garden

sage-plum-crane-and-beaded-garden

GargoyleSentry
http://www.spoonflower.com/profiles/gargoylesentry
https://sproutpatterns.com/shop/gargoylesentry

Carol’s designs are bold and a bit on the wild side with a touch of whimsy thrown in. I just love her work. OMG I want that “Great Balls of Fire Red Hot” top! It’s amazing!

#SAGE Noisy Splat Plaid
-using Carol’s Purple Noise Patterned @400% Scale and my Splat Plaid

sage-noisy-splat-plaid

#SAGE Great Balls of Fire Red Hot
-using Carol’s Great Balls of Fire! and my Red Hot Fly Dye

sage-great-balls-of-fire-red-hot

GreenLotus

http://www.spoonflower.com/profiles/greenlotus
https://sproutpatterns.com/shop/greenlotus

Patti’s fabrics have a lovely, flowing, organic quality. Her designs seem to have the freedom of ocean currents running through them, and in fact, several of them feature sea creatures. Love love love them!

#SAGE Collaborations-Greenlotus-ChinaberriesStudio
-using Patti’s Carnation Fans in Color and my Rusty Trellis

sage-collaborations-greenlotus-chinaberriesstudio

Maryyx 

http://www.spoonflower.com/profiles/maryyx
https://sproutpatterns.com/shop/maryyx

Mary has some vibrant, swirly fabrics that are amazing. She also has some fanciful birds that are derived from her fine art work. Another nice thing about working with Mary’s designs is that she has coordinates that come in different scales and stripes that have sets of horizontal, vertical AND DIAGONAL! This makes it fun to work with them since Sprout is so new you can’t rotate anything yet. They are working on that.

#SAGE Frost in the Meadow
-using Mary’s Bella Nina 6 – Soft Pastel Green Solid and my Winter Tree

sage-frost-in-the-meadow

#SAGE Purple Fantasy Tween Wings
-using Mary’s Cosmic Dance, where energy flows and sparks fly – Lavender, Periwinkle, Pink and Dali Dreams, aqua, lavender, purple and a delightful pastel lime green, lengthwise grain, vertical orientation, large scale and my Splat Plaid

sage-purple-fantasy

#SAGE Mango Mandy Collaboration
-using Mary’s Mango Mandy with her Colorful Plumage and a Sunburst Border, half drop repeat, orange, yellow, green, purple and my Rusty Trellis

sage-mango-mandysage-mango-mandy-back

#SAGE Singin’ the Blues
-using Mary’s Bella Nina 3 – Vertical Pinstripe teal blue and my Boho Blues

sage-singin-the-blues

#SAGE Jammin’ Jammies
-using Mary’s AW 2 – Geometric Trellis Matrix in maroon, mauve and teal, large scale, vertical and AW 2 – Geometric Trellis Matrix in maroon mauve and teal, large scale, horizontal and my Boho Blues  – (She made this to match a pair of PJ pants that I made)

sage-jammin-jammies

#SAGE Tribal Wonder
-using Mary’s Eagles Soaring, Bella Nina 18 Diamonds and my Red Hot Fly Dye

tribal-wonder-collaborationsage-tribal-wonder-back

Muhlenkott

http://www.spoonflower.com/profiles/muhlenkott
https://sproutpatterns.com/shop/muhlenkott

Michael is a very talented and skilled designer with a vast knowledge of art history and the art of many cultures. It’s really a pleasure working with his designs.

#SAGE Blue Kimono
-using Michael’s Polynésie 1e and my Boho Blues

sage-blue-kimono

Paysmage

http://www.spoonflower.com/profiles/paysmage
https://sproutpatterns.com/shop/paysmage

Sylvie has a flair for geometry and rich colors. She also has a series of designs called “Tibet Inspiration” and some “Mandalas” that I Love Love Love. They delight the boho-hippie in me.

#SAGE Sleeping Among Flowers
-using Sylvie’s FLOWERS MISH MASH XL ALMOST FLAMBLOYANT FALL and my Wicked Web

sage-sleeping-among-flowers

#SAGE Indian Gypsy Blouse
-using Sylvie’s INDIAN FEATHER SPIRIT STRIPES and my Wicked Web

temp20160929-10062-bsox7h

#SAGE Elves of the Forest Friendship
-using Sylvie’s GIVE ME YOUR HAND ! LEAFY ELF WOODLAND CREATURES, anneostroff’s Fractal 65 and my Rusty Trellis (how cute is this?)

sage-elves-of-the-forest-friendship

#SAGE Elves of the Forest Friendship Apron
-using Sylvie’s GIVE ME YOUR HAND ! LEAFY ELF WOODLAND CREATURES, anneostroff’s Fractal 65 and my Rusty Trellis

sage-elves-of-the-forest

#SAGE Indian Flowers and Splat Plaid 
-using Sylvie’s LIKE IN INDIA Large PastelLIKE IN INDIA PASTEL UNCOMMON STRIPES and my Splat Plaid

sage-indian-flowers-and-splat-plaid

RhondaDesigns

http://www.spoonflower.com/profiles/rhondadesigns
https://sproutpatterns.com/shop/rhondadesigns

Rhonda’s designs are classic and full of texture and detail. She also has a number of fascinating designs that were created from photographs from the garden. These are really cool and interesting. The little square Spoonflower displays doesn’t really do them justice. You need to click the text link “view original” to see the lush depth of texture.

#SAGE The Hidden Thorn in Boho Blues
-using her The Hidden Thorn – Dark and my Boho Blues

sage-hidden-thorn-in-boho-blues

This is a set…#SAGE Golden Pewter Dots on Maze Mania (the top) and #SAGE Golden Pewter Dots on Maze Mania (the skirt)
-both using Rhonda’s Pewter Pin Dot Patterns on Antique Gold and my Maze Mania
WANT WANT WANT!!

sage-golden-pewter-dots-on-maze-maniasage-maze-mania-with-antique-gold-pweter-dots

Shi Designs

http://www.spoonflower.com/profiles/shi_designs
https://sproutpatterns.com/shop/shi_designs

Sharon’s designs are all fabulous but my favorites are the ones that look like tile. It’s as though she took some renaissance design, some damask and some tribal and whipped them up in a blender and poured out something uniquely hers.

#SAGE Graphic Organic Modern Tote
-using Sharon’s Marble Marquetry, Island Tribal Print 2 Charcoal on White, Arabesque Black & White,  and my Fractal Zebra

sage-graphic-organice-modern-tote

#SAGE Boho Blues Button Up
-using her Shibori Diamonds Denim and my Boho Blues

sage-boho-blues-button-up-pattern

So these are the sweet surprises I have found on my doorstep some mornings (in my messages). Isn’t that a lovely thing? I have to say, joining a collective was a smart move.

After writing up this blog entry, am I seeing a theme here? I am thinking that everyone likes Boho Blues the best. I guess it’s time to make it in other colorways. 🙂

Thanks for visiting ❤

About sharonpassmore

Hi. I am an artist living in Greenville, South Carolina. I am the Art moderator at Eratosphere, a forum of Ablemuse Review. I play with all sorts of art-forms, including digital design and fabric design, but nearest to my heart, at the moment, is collage. I like it best if the collage materials are not recognized from a distance and reveal themselves at close up, the way a painting can look realistic from a distance but on closer inspection, the freedom of brushstrokes becomes apparent. My materials are my brushstrokes. ​ I use anything I find in my collage that suits the purpose, beads, broken jewelry, wallpaper scraps etc... I always try to incorporate recycled packaging too. This is important to me, partly because of the environment, and partly because I get a little thrill out of recognizing the value of materials most people would discard as trash. Think of this next time you peel that wonderful foil seal off a new can of coffee. ​ I am inspired by many kinds of traditional arts and crafts. The cultural history of the world is just loaded with fabulous treasure, isn't it? I view the world of art and art history as a giant buffet and I want to sample a taste of everything. "Mmmmm that Wabi Sabi looks delicious! Gimme a little of that Horror Vacui! Check out those fantastic Molas!" I completely reject the idea that one artform is superior to another due to what is in fashion at the moment. Art is timeless. ​ If there's something I don't like too much, I try to keep in mind that I probably don't understand it, and that's a signal to me that I have something more to learn. There is always something more to learn. Thanks for visitng <3 Sharon Passmore
This entry was posted in #SAGE, Art, Business, fabric and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

