Thread

Good Morning,

Mom and I were organizing the studio the other day and got an idea! The previous owners of this house had these long strips of molding on the wall because they used to slide pictures between them. They are spaced out at 12″ apart I think. Well, this always bugged me because it took up practically the whole wall and it was useless, but Mom and I did not agree on it. My position was tear this mess down, and hers was we can put pictures up too. Bleh. Well it might look nice but it would add nothing to the efficiency of the work space.

We also have the problem of having mass quantities of things to store. Seriously, we just bust up every time we find another unpacked box and find more of something. “OMG look! We have some THREAD! I was beginning to worry about our thread deprivation!” HAHAHAHA  Followed by a sort of droopy tired sigh and maybe some head banging.

So here is the idea… with about 1/4 of the supply up (so far), it’s looking good I think.

TA DA

044

This was done with push pins and rubber bands.

The only worrisome thing is that these strips of molding were not intended to be a heavy-duty structure. What is happening is the lowest and uppermost strips are wanting to pull away from the wall a little. It’s not the weight, it’s the tension of the  rubber bands.

I tried to remedy this situation by hanging the cone spools on the bottom so the weight would pull against the upward tension. I think, though, that we will just need to go down the upper and lower strips and put in a few long screws into the wall studs. It’s not pulling all that badly. I don’t think it’s all going to let loose at any moment, but maybe over time it may fail.

It makes musical tones when loading it, 🙂 kind of a twangy, funky sound.

Here are some more shots of the studio.

047

This is the shelf unit that we had made for all the paper. On top is where all the beads will be and,, above that, all the bead like or bead sized things, found objects etc…broken jewelry bits.

046

These are all the milk crates we just got for the light cottons. Yes, this is just the light cottons, and just the small pieces of light cottons, the “biggies” and bolts still need a place. So do the heavy fabrics, denim, lace, pleather, synthetics, faux furs,  upholstery fabrics, the fancies, tulle,  brocade. (LOL I’m drooling now as though I was in a candy store.)  These crates of light cotton (12 of them) are all sorted now and along the wall to the left. The yellow hamper is the scrap basket.

One we rolled up our sleeves the  studio started to be fun!

About sharonpassmore

Hi. I am an artist living in Greenville, South Carolina. I am the Art moderator at Eratosphere, a forum of Ablemuse Review. I play with all sorts of art-forms, including digital design and fabric design, but nearest to my heart, at the moment, is collage. I like it best if the collage materials are not recognized from a distance and reveal themselves at close up, the way a painting can look realistic from a distance but on closer inspection, the freedom of brushstrokes becomes apparent. My materials are my brushstrokes. ​ I use anything I find in my collage that suits the purpose, beads, broken jewelry, wallpaper scraps etc... I always try to incorporate recycled packaging too. This is important to me, partly because of the environment, and partly because I get a little thrill out of recognizing the value of materials most people would discard as trash. Think of this next time you peel that wonderful foil seal off a new can of coffee. ​ I am inspired by many kinds of traditional arts and crafts. The cultural history of the world is just loaded with fabulous treasure, isn't it? I view the world of art and art history as a giant buffet and I want to sample a taste of everything. "Mmmmm that Wabi Sabi looks delicious! Gimme a little of that Horror Vacui! Check out those fantastic Molas!" I completely reject the idea that one artform is superior to another due to what is in fashion at the moment. Art is timeless. ​ If there's something I don't like too much, I try to keep in mind that I probably don't understand it, and that's a signal to me that I have something more to learn. There is always something more to learn. Thanks for visitng <3 Sharon Passmore
This entry was posted in Art, organizing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

