Hello Again

Hi – Good morning,
Wow, I have been AWOL from my blog for awhile. I think I had blog block.

What got me inspired to come back was that I have been asked to do an interview for Ablemuse again. So far I have interviewed Sara G. Umemoto, Billy Monday, and Alper Çukur for previous issues, and it was really fun after getting past the intimidation part.

This time I will be interviewing an artist named Clara Lieu. I find her art fascinating. I have been reading her blog and getting all kinds of inspired about my own work and about blogging again.

So today I will tell you all about my studio. *cringe* I think I have talked about this before… one sec while I go peek….yeah.

Back in December I told you this:

“Mom bought a house that has four (4) that’s 4 rooms for crafting in the basement. This was heavenly to me. I had never had this kind of space to work in before. Always, in the past, it was on the kitchen table or balanced on my bed. Now we have these 4 glorious rooms. One is like a big walk in closet sort of. It has 2 closets on one wall and the rest of the room has been decked out with the previous owners old kitchen cabinets. They are blue. We had special shelves put into one of the closets, deep and shallow, for holding paper and drawings. The second room is the biggest. This is where we have the big cafeteria tables, the sewing machines, the ironing board, and a wall of shelves filled with fabric. We have not finished unpacking all the fabric! The last 2 rooms are unfinished basement rooms. In one we put all the painting supplies and in the other we put all the tool bench stuff. This is easily 1/3 of this house dedicated to art studio.

So why do I not work down there? I don’t know! I guess the main feeling I get when I think of going down there is the overwhelming dread of having to organize it. As I mentioned before – we have not fully unpacked yet – 2 years later.”

This question has always been popping up “Why do I not work down there?”

It must be some character flaw, right? It’s not organized yet and it’s so much work that it overwhelms me and makes me tired just thinking about it. So the character flaw could be “lazy”. OR, I am a great artist until it’s put to the test and then I suck so the character flaw could be “self-deceptive” or “unrealistic” or just “you suck”.  Maybe I am just avoiding the discomfort of the cave-like basement. I guess that would be a form of “lazy” too.

Well NO! Shut-up you awful nasty voices!

The basement feels like a cave….We had more lighting installed. I moved the sound system down there.

The basement is not organized yet…Mom and I mad a commitment of at least an hour a day organizing it. We have spent the past 3 days working on thread and fabric.  We put up 2 panels of chalkboard wallcovering decals. Awesome!

Is there some kind of aversion to stepping into the studio and “being” an artist? Maybe. But let’s first remove all the other aversions and see what’s left.

About sharonpassmore

Hi. I am an artist living in Greenville, South Carolina. I am the Art moderator at Eratosphere, a forum of Ablemuse Review. I play with all sorts of art-forms, including digital design and fabric design, but nearest to my heart, at the moment, is collage. I like it best if the collage materials are not recognized from a distance and reveal themselves at close up, the way a painting can look realistic from a distance but on closer inspection, the freedom of brushstrokes becomes apparent. My materials are my brushstrokes. ​ I use anything I find in my collage that suits the purpose, beads, broken jewelry, wallpaper scraps etc... I always try to incorporate recycled packaging too. This is important to me, partly because of the environment, and partly because I get a little thrill out of recognizing the value of materials most people would discard as trash. Think of this next time you peel that wonderful foil seal off a new can of coffee. ​ I am inspired by many kinds of traditional arts and crafts. The cultural history of the world is just loaded with fabulous treasure, isn't it? I view the world of art and art history as a giant buffet and I want to sample a taste of everything. "Mmmmm that Wabi Sabi looks delicious! Gimme a little of that Horror Vacui! Check out those fantastic Molas!" I completely reject the idea that one artform is superior to another due to what is in fashion at the moment. Art is timeless. ​ If there's something I don't like too much, I try to keep in mind that I probably don't understand it, and that's a signal to me that I have something more to learn. There is always something more to learn. Thanks for visitng <3 Sharon Passmore
This entry was posted in Art, Motivation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

