Queens

Good Afternoon,

Today I have been working on the Queen of Spades. I mentioned, about a week ago, how this series I was making for Zazzle products, was stalled. I had the Queen of Hearts done and the Queen of Clubs, but somewhere in the middle of the Queen of Spades I got sidetracked.

Here are the first 2 of my royal personages:

It’s just crazy to stall though, because so many products are better if there is a full set. There’s a wall decal page of all 4 suits. If someone wanted these as coasters for a game room they would want all 4 suits. So I dove in again this morning and the Queen of Spades is coming along nicely.

My inspiration for this series is the different aspects of a woman. Then I chose movie stars for my models to portray these women.

The Queen of hearts is modeled after June Allison. Her heart is open and joyful. She is always thrilled to see you. Her eyes always have  delight and the sparkle of a joke in them.  She remembers your name and your kid’s names as well as everyone’s birthday. She will quite likely bake you a cake or at least have the chef bake you a cake. You want to hug this Queen.

The Queen of Clubs is modeled after Sophia Lauren.  She is a free spirited being of nature. She lives in the forest and her movements sound like the breeze rustling through the trees. She is very elusive. If you were looking for her you would not find her, but, if she wished to find you, you would suddenly catch the scent of mountain heather, and turn and there she would be, her hair full of sunlight.

The Queen of Spades is modeled after Marlene Dietrich. Ooohhhh, you better behave around the Queen of Spades, she’s a Dominatrix. There can be no secrets from this Queen, She can look in your eye and see straight into your soul. She demands obedience and she owns a dungeon. Terrifying and compelling, her beauty makes a person tremble.

The Queen of Diamonds is the pampered, high maintenance one. She can inspire someone to give her jewels with a little smile and look in her eye. She is champagne and ermine. I have not started her yet so I am not sure who the model will be, maybe Elizabeth Taylor or Grace Kelly, or Elizabeth only blonde. More of her story will come to me as I make her.

About sharonpassmore

Hi. I am an artist living in Greenville, South Carolina. I am the Art moderator at Eratosphere, a forum of Ablemuse Review. I play with all sorts of art-forms, including digital design and fabric design, but nearest to my heart, at the moment, is collage. I like it best if the collage materials are not recognized from a distance and reveal themselves at close up, the way a painting can look realistic from a distance but on closer inspection, the freedom of brushstrokes becomes apparent. My materials are my brushstrokes. ​ I use anything I find in my collage that suits the purpose, beads, broken jewelry, wallpaper scraps etc... I always try to incorporate recycled packaging too. This is important to me, partly because of the environment, and partly because I get a little thrill out of recognizing the value of materials most people would discard as trash. Think of this next time you peel that wonderful foil seal off a new can of coffee. ​ I am inspired by many kinds of traditional arts and crafts. The cultural history of the world is just loaded with fabulous treasure, isn't it? I view the world of art and art history as a giant buffet and I want to sample a taste of everything. "Mmmmm that Wabi Sabi looks delicious! Gimme a little of that Horror Vacui! Check out those fantastic Molas!" I completely reject the idea that one artform is superior to another due to what is in fashion at the moment. Art is timeless. ​ If there's something I don't like too much, I try to keep in mind that I probably don't understand it, and that's a signal to me that I have something more to learn. There is always something more to learn. Thanks for visitng <3 Sharon Passmore
This entry was posted in Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

