The Girl Returns

wow it’s been 2 years since I blogged. I even forgot I had this blog. Let’s see if I can whip some life into it. *whips out the electric heart-attack paddle thingies*

Well we have lived in Greenville for 2 years now and. wow folks, what a lovely place to live. There are never the long lines for things like there are in San Diego, and I guess every big city. Last summer my friend Heidi and her son visited and we went to the local water park. There was 1 (one), let me repeat that – one person in front of us in line at the entry. Can you imagine that in San Diego? or any big city. If that happened at one of those water parks you would think – had there been a chemical accident in the water? Are they closed? Besides that we drove in and found a reasonably close parking space immediately, seriously, not even once around the parking lot.

Life is pretty good around here but I am hoping we are not turning into hermits. I just enrolled Ian in an online HS. Let me tell you, it’s a LOT more work on my part but so far I love it. We just have to take part in the activities in the real world to avoid the hermit aspect. You know, regular schools have that “Parent Portal” nowadays. It’s a good thing, but where it falls short for me is that it only shows you assignments that are past. What good does it do the parent to see what was supposed to be turned in last week and now is too late to make up? This does me no good with my son BSsing me about what is due tomorrow, or that they did an assignment in class, or that he lost the paper, or that the paper in my hand, from his backpack, is old. Don’t get me wrong, the Parent Portal is great, but it doesn’t hold a candle to the information available at Connections Academy. I can look at his FUTURE assignments all the way to June! Not only what they are – but the assignments themselves. Every worksheet he needs is just a printer click away. “You lost the paper?” *print* “There’s your paper”

Another difficulty we were having with regular school was the books. For those that do not know, my son has ADD, and his books were never where he needed them. He couldn’t do homework because the book was at school, or I was getting phone calls to bring his book to the school. Not to mention the money owed at the end of the year because the books were thrashed. Some of that is irresponsibility for sure, but some of that is from the books being schlepped daily in a backpack weighing 60 pounds when full. Now all my son’s texts are online! They also sent 3 of them as textbooks but those remain on the desk.

Well that’s about it for today. mom and i are about to watch a Robert Redford movie.

About sharonpassmore

Hi. I am an artist living in Greenville, South Carolina. I am the Art moderator at Eratosphere, a forum of Ablemuse Review. I play with all sorts of art-forms, including digital design and fabric design, but nearest to my heart, at the moment, is collage. I like it best if the collage materials are not recognized from a distance and reveal themselves at close up, the way a painting can look realistic from a distance but on closer inspection, the freedom of brushstrokes becomes apparent. My materials are my brushstrokes. ​ I use anything I find in my collage that suits the purpose, beads, broken jewelry, wallpaper scraps etc... I always try to incorporate recycled packaging too. This is important to me, partly because of the environment, and partly because I get a little thrill out of recognizing the value of materials most people would discard as trash. Think of this next time you peel that wonderful foil seal off a new can of coffee. ​ I am inspired by many kinds of traditional arts and crafts. The cultural history of the world is just loaded with fabulous treasure, isn't it? I view the world of art and art history as a giant buffet and I want to sample a taste of everything. "Mmmmm that Wabi Sabi looks delicious! Gimme a little of that Horror Vacui! Check out those fantastic Molas!" I completely reject the idea that one artform is superior to another due to what is in fashion at the moment. Art is timeless. ​ If there's something I don't like too much, I try to keep in mind that I probably don't understand it, and that's a signal to me that I have something more to learn. There is always something more to learn. Thanks for visitng <3 Sharon Passmore
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

