Lovely Greenville

Well, we have been in South Carolina a little over a week I guess. This is a really pretty area. Our back yard has robins, blue jays, cardinals, woodpeckers, Chipmunks, squirrels. It’s fun to sit out in back and watch.

Another cool thing is – geese are flying over! Wow, yesterday I saw 2 formations of geese flying low right above me, honking. I felt even more excited about seeing that than I was feeling about the Blue Angels flying over the house in San Diego.

I got some pitiful vids of that the last day we were packing – I’ll share it later. The same with all our pictures  of the trip. The thing is they are on Mom’s laptop but my programs to edit them, crop and tweak contrast etc… are on my desktop – so I have to do that still.

The picture at the masthead of my blog is one of our trip pics BTW. It’s from when we were driving through the rockies. That train was across a small river from the road we were on.

Well the past week and a half have all been about getting the house wired with our vital communications, receiving trash cans and washer/dryer; finding school bus stops, grocery stores, (we found Target Yay); trying to find the dishes, towels, toilet paper. It’s been fun 🙂 Meanwhile we had a flood in the kitchen yesterday just as the property manager was over with our garage door opener.  See, I had combed Speedy with the flea comb (didn’t find any so that’s good), well I keep some dish soap in a cup by me so that I can drop any fleas in it. This kills them instantly. I set the cup in the kitchen when I was done. Mom did not know what was in the cup and put it in the dishwasher. Do you all know what happens if you put regular dish washing soap, the kind for washing dishes in the sink, in a dishwasher? Niagara Falls of soap suds – that’s what. I felt like I was in an “I Love Lucy” episode.

Well, catch you later folks!

About sharonpassmore

Hi. I am an artist living in Greenville, South Carolina. I am the Art moderator at Eratosphere, a forum of Ablemuse Review. I play with all sorts of art-forms, including digital design and fabric design, but nearest to my heart, at the moment, is collage. I like it best if the collage materials are not recognized from a distance and reveal themselves at close up, the way a painting can look realistic from a distance but on closer inspection, the freedom of brushstrokes becomes apparent. My materials are my brushstrokes. ​ I use anything I find in my collage that suits the purpose, beads, broken jewelry, wallpaper scraps etc... I always try to incorporate recycled packaging too. This is important to me, partly because of the environment, and partly because I get a little thrill out of recognizing the value of materials most people would discard as trash. Think of this next time you peel that wonderful foil seal off a new can of coffee. ​ I am inspired by many kinds of traditional arts and crafts. The cultural history of the world is just loaded with fabulous treasure, isn't it? I view the world of art and art history as a giant buffet and I want to sample a taste of everything. "Mmmmm that Wabi Sabi looks delicious! Gimme a little of that Horror Vacui! Check out those fantastic Molas!" I completely reject the idea that one artform is superior to another due to what is in fashion at the moment. Art is timeless. ​ If there's something I don't like too much, I try to keep in mind that I probably don't understand it, and that's a signal to me that I have something more to learn. There is always something more to learn. Thanks for visitng <3 Sharon Passmore
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

