Day 7 -Topeka KS to St. Louis MO

We had a shorter drive yesterday and we will have a shorter drive today too. This is because we are having visits! Woo Hoo Yay!

The flat of Kansas turned into rolling hills in Missouri. We were still having pretty, sunny weather and here and there the fall colors were coming out. It was a nice drive crossing Missouri although I slept for part of it.

Then we came into St. Louis. Oh my what a charming city! I didn’t even mind getting lost downtown under the arch and ending up on the wrong freeway heading towards Memphis or Montana or something. We had to flip a few Ueys and we got it all fixed but all of this circular stuff was right under the St. Louis Arch! It’s way cooler in person. From pictures, I never had any idea how close, how right up in the city it is. When you are a few blocks away and look up at it, it seems to be embracing the city.

Well we got set right and went on to find our hotel. It was about 20 miles east of the city. Just as we got in the hotel room Bill called.

Bill is a friend of mine from the internet. We had never met in person before. Could he have been an axe murderer? No, we have been friends for over 2 years, and, as you can see we are fine. Anyway I had mom along to protect me LOL. I wonder if Bill had any concerns about us?

Well, we met Bill under the arch and then he led us on a lovely tour of St. Louis. Had Mom and I been on our own we would never have been brave enough to go driving around, so this was awesome. Bill showed us so many cool buildings, a temple that is now a bowling alley and movie theater, the building where Kris, his wife works (also a long time internet friend but she’s out of town and we just couldn’t co-ordinate it to meet 😦  ), the university, his apartment building, and a lovely park. Then we went to dinner at a very good bar-b-que place where we sat outside in the sidewalk cafe. Thanks again for dinner, Bill!  Finally leading us to a corner to drop him off where we were right at the on ramp to the freeway we needed, 70. It was an awesome visit.

We got back to the hotel and about 2 or 3 in the morning I woke up and there we were sound asleep with all the lights on. I guess we crashed pretty hard LOL

Today we are headed to Cincinatti. I guess Speedo is getting pretty sick of this routine because he’s hiding in the bathroom this morning. I wish I could communicate in cat because he’s only got one or two more days of this and then he will be in his new home.

See you tomorrow!

About sharonpassmore

Hi. I am an artist living in Greenville, South Carolina. I am the Art moderator at Eratosphere, a forum of Ablemuse Review. I play with all sorts of art-forms, including digital design and fabric design, but nearest to my heart, at the moment, is collage. I like it best if the collage materials are not recognized from a distance and reveal themselves at close up, the way a painting can look realistic from a distance but on closer inspection, the freedom of brushstrokes becomes apparent. My materials are my brushstrokes. ​ I use anything I find in my collage that suits the purpose, beads, broken jewelry, wallpaper scraps etc... I always try to incorporate recycled packaging too. This is important to me, partly because of the environment, and partly because I get a little thrill out of recognizing the value of materials most people would discard as trash. Think of this next time you peel that wonderful foil seal off a new can of coffee. ​ I am inspired by many kinds of traditional arts and crafts. The cultural history of the world is just loaded with fabulous treasure, isn't it? I view the world of art and art history as a giant buffet and I want to sample a taste of everything. "Mmmmm that Wabi Sabi looks delicious! Gimme a little of that Horror Vacui! Check out those fantastic Molas!" I completely reject the idea that one artform is superior to another due to what is in fashion at the moment. Art is timeless. ​ If there's something I don't like too much, I try to keep in mind that I probably don't understand it, and that's a signal to me that I have something more to learn. There is always something more to learn. Thanks for visitng <3 Sharon Passmore
This entry was posted in Speedy the cat, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 7 -Topeka KS to St. Louis MO

  1. Amberly says:

    Glad y’all got to meet!!! Once you get all settled in, Adrian and I will have to come visit you.

    Like

  2. We did, Kris, we had a great evening. I’m sorry we couldn’t meet you, but now we will be alot closer than when I was in California no? Let’s make a plan!

    Like

  3. Kris says:

    I wish I could have been here when you came through!!! I heard it was a fabulous time together and I am glad you got to have a mini-tour of St. Louis. Hugs!

    Like

Leave a Reply

