Moving across country

Well it has been a crazy few days.

Friday, Oct. 1st was our moving day. The cat was entirely freaked out by then because on the previous day we had the moving men, a thunder storm and the Blue Angels practicing right over the house for the air show – ALL AT THE SAME TIME. I had no idea that the Blue Angels, or any planes really, would be flying around in a thunder storm but there it is.

So Friday rolls around and we are filling a suprise POD because the POD the moving men packed for us Thursday was not enough. We still had a giant TV, kitchen table 4,000,000 chairs, a dresser and oh so much more stuff.  So we ordered another POD and for some reason – ordering a smaller one was more expensive than the huge one, so we have one POD with a little load.

While we were working in the garage packing we had several visitors! The inspector, who was meeting the new buyers and their realtor there, Manny, the awesome guy who put in some of our landscaping and cuts the grass (I’m glad we got to see him to say goodbye and introduce him to the ladies who bought the house) and the cleaning crew. We also had my son’s Uncle Andre and two of his frineds picking up some furniture and Moses, the man who was moving some stuff out for us (what a great guy, I’m sorry we didn’t meet him long ago) . So for a while, while we were packing, there were people all over the place. It was crazy.

Our goal was to head out of town by around 2 or 3 and get into Vegas around 8 or 9 latest. Well, we finally finished packing the dang thing around 5:30. We still needed to go to UPS store and mail off the ATT equipment, the plan to go close my bank account on our way out of town was shot (there’s no Chase in the Carolinas). Well next thing that happened is – the brand new lock we bought for the POD didn’t work, so that added one more errand, the hardware store, to the list. Luckily the guy at Ace was awesome and switched it for us with no fuss at all and no BS at the register. He just got a new lock of the same type – opened it, tested it and let me be on my way. Could me holding a cat carrier with a howling cat have had anything to do with his expediency? Maybe, but I think he was just a nice guy too. Meanwhile Mom was at the UPS Store doing the ATT equipment. Let me tell you, neither of us wanted to be in public stores at this point. Were we sweaty, dusty, cobweb covered, red faced messes at this point? Hell Yes!

So we headed out down through Pacific Beach and La Jolla to have a last goodbye to San Diego. It was dark already, around 7:30 and we were both doing mental math about when we would get in to Las Vegas and trying to remember where we put the phone number of the hotel. Still this little bit of round-about route through our old haunts was worth it even if it was dark.

OK so we drive all evening and into the night. Gosh I don’t remember much of the drive because it was dark and we were half dead. We get into Las Vegas around 2:30 in the morning and surprise surprise! the freaking hotel, “Days Inn at the Wild Wild West”, won’t take cats!! Really? We booked a hotel that claimed “Pets accepted” and they tell me “Yes, pets are accepted but not cats.” By now it’s 3 in the morning. Mom, Speedy and I are in the parking lot and I call Orbitz. The Orbitz guy is telling me “I appologize” and talking about a refund and I tell him that’s all well and good but meanwhile “I’m in a freaking parking lot at 3 in the morning with my elderly mother and my cat in a strange city” (strange in more ways than one) and we need somewhere to go NOW! Well he finds a few hotels and motels, the motels which we could check into Saturday at 2PM! I say “I’m in a freaking parking lot at 3:30 in the morning with my elderly mother and my cat.” He puts me on hold and finds some more places we can’t check into till the afternoon. I’m all “I’m in a freaking parking lot at 4 in the morning with my elderly mother and my cat.” Really this is outrageous isn’t it? I feel they should have fixed their mistake. To leave us stranded like this is ridiculous.

So we started up the car and with Mom holding the phone and listening to the annoying muzak, we drove over and parked outside of  Daniel’s house and slept in the car till it got to be a reasonable time to wake people up. Well we tried to sleep. Around 5 AM we cruised around and found a MacDonalds where we could use the restroom.  Day 1 of our adventure.

About sharonpassmore

Hi. I am an artist living in Greenville, South Carolina. I am the Art moderator at Eratosphere, a forum of Ablemuse Review. I play with all sorts of art-forms, including digital design and fabric design, but nearest to my heart, at the moment, is collage. I like it best if the collage materials are not recognized from a distance and reveal themselves at close up, the way a painting can look realistic from a distance but on closer inspection, the freedom of brushstrokes becomes apparent. My materials are my brushstrokes. ​ I use anything I find in my collage that suits the purpose, beads, broken jewelry, wallpaper scraps etc... I always try to incorporate recycled packaging too. This is important to me, partly because of the environment, and partly because I get a little thrill out of recognizing the value of materials most people would discard as trash. Think of this next time you peel that wonderful foil seal off a new can of coffee. ​ I am inspired by many kinds of traditional arts and crafts. The cultural history of the world is just loaded with fabulous treasure, isn't it? I view the world of art and art history as a giant buffet and I want to sample a taste of everything. "Mmmmm that Wabi Sabi looks delicious! Gimme a little of that Horror Vacui! Check out those fantastic Molas!" I completely reject the idea that one artform is superior to another due to what is in fashion at the moment. Art is timeless. ​ If there's something I don't like too much, I try to keep in mind that I probably don't understand it, and that's a signal to me that I have something more to learn. There is always something more to learn. Thanks for visitng <3 Sharon Passmore
This entry was posted in Family, Speedy the cat, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moving across country

  1. Sheila says:

    oh my gawd…what a nightmayuh~!!

    Like

  2. Sis Bekedam says:

    I feel foryou guys, but nothing that starts out easy, ends easy, right??? Looking forward to the rest of your adventure. Applaud you 100 % as I LOVE being 5 minutes walking time from Leigh and her family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

